Skip to content

Announced: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Fixtures

Today, the International Cricket Council Announced the fixture list along with venues that will host the WC 2019. The 13th Edition of ICC Cricket World Cup will be held in England & Wales. The World Cup will be held after a gap of 20 years in the country where it originated. The tournament will be played in format similar to that of 1992 World Cup with 10 teams, which means that there will be a single group and each team will play rest of the 9 teams. Also, it will be first time that all the full-members of ICC will not feature in World Cup.

Qualification: The top 8 teams on the basis of ICC Rankings as of September 2017 qualified for the World Cup. The rest of the 4 full memebers plus 6 Associate teams from World Cricket League and other ICC tournaments played the World Cup Qualifier 2018 held in Zimbabwe. Afganisthan and Windies qualified by reaching the Final and thus reached in the pool for the Mega Event.

The matches will be played across 11 venues with first match being played at Oval Cricket Ground, London on 30th May and the final will played at Lords on 14th July 2019 with semi-finals being played at Old-Trafford (Manchester) and Edgbaston (Brimingham). Also, all the knockout matches will have a reserve day.

Venues: The Oval, Lords, Nottingham, Chester-Le-Street, Southampton, Edgbaston, Bristol, Cardiff, Taunton, Manchester, Leeds.

The first match will be played between hosts England and South Africa at Oval on 30th May. India will play its first match against South Africa on 5th June at Southampton Stadium (Rose Bowl). This will be first time that India will not starts it’s campagin against Pakistan in a ICC tournament. The Summit Clash between India and Pakistan will be played on 16th June at Old Trafford Cricket Ground in Manchester. Their will be a total of 48 matches in the tournament that will be played over a span of month and a half with each day featuring a single match.


Here is India’s full schedule:

India vs South Africa: June 5, 2019

India vs Australia: June 9, 2019

India vs New Zealand: June 13, 2019

India vs Pakistan: June 16, 2019

India vs Afghanistan: June 2, 2019

India vs West Indies: June 27, 2019

India vs England: June 30, 2019

India vs Bangladesh: July 2, 2019

India vs Sri Lanka: July 6, 2019


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: