Skip to content

Nidahas Trophy: Ind vs Sri, T20I Preview

After a 2-1 win in the T20I series against Proteas, India gear up for their next assignment against Srilanka and Bangladesh in a T20I tri-angular series. So, far the Indian team has both character and hunger to win which we saw in the recently concluded South Africa Tour. This time the team will be without the services of Captain Virat, Hardik, Kuldeep, Bumrah, B.Kumar and first choice keeper Ms.Dhoni, who have been rested due to hectic upcoming schedule. Also, it will be third time in last 8 months that India and Srilanka will be locking horns. Talking about Srilanka, their last series win against Bangladesh was a booster for them but injuries to Mathews and pacer Madhushanka has led to worries and also this series will be a litmus for India who is going to test their bench strength ahead of a long and hectic Schedule.

Also read, CSK’s Away XI

Ground and Pitch Conditions:

The match will start at 7:00PM IST and will be played at iconic R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo and infact all the matches of series including the final will be played here. Taking a look into pitch, here the pitch is always on a slower side which tempts teams to play a extra spinner.



Rohit will be captaining the side with Shikhar as his deputy and also the duo will open the batting for the side and will be followed by Raina, M.Pandey, Dinesh Karthik afterwards. Also Karthik will be the keeper for the series and Rishabh Pant will be back-up keeper. Axar, Chahal, Unadkat and Shardul are certain to play, with only two spots left Rishabh Pant is likely to have one of them for being a experienced campaginer and Vijay Shankar is expected to debut, as India have back-ups in the spin bowling and moreover Vijay is a good hard hitting batsman and a useful pacer for the side.

Playing XI

Rohit(C), Shikhar(Vc), Raina, Manish, Dinesh(Wk), Rishabh Pant, Vijay Shankar, A.Patel, Chahal, Unadkat, Shardul


It is still unknown what kind of eleven will the hosts Srilanka pitch in for the opening game.

Squad(Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Suranga Lakmal (Vice Captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Thisara Perera, Jeewan Mendis, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Dhananjaya De Silva.)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: