Skip to content

Ind Vs SA, 1st T20I: Preview

After a 1-2 Test series loss, a 5-1 ODI series win, now the touring party shifts focus towards the 3 match T20I series. The series will start in Johanesburg, then Centurion and finally will end up in Cape Town. This series will be a big test for both Proteas and India as one is not having its key players in the squad due to injury, upcoming Test series and other is struggling to find a good combination. Also, the matches between South African and Indian Women teams will be played before the Men’s games at the same venue, so it will be a great treat for the cricket lovers to watch both the Men’s and Women team play on the same date.

Ground and Pitch Conditions:

Talking about the Ground the match will played at New Wanderer’s Stadium in Johanesburg. The pitch is expected to be a typical T20I wicket i.e. a batsman friendly one. But the last match played here was a low scoring one in which Srilanka defeated the hosts South Africa and spinner Sandakan got 4 wickets on his debut.

Time: 18:00 IST (14:30 local time)

Date: 18 Feb 2018



The Indian T20 squad looks similar as the ODI Squad with three changes: KL.Rahul, Raina and Unadkat in and Iyer, Shami, Jadhav out. India will be looking to play five front line bowlers and Pandya as a back-up. Also, Kuldeep might not feature in the clash due to a injury to his bowling hand, the extent of injury is still unknown. Raina is expected to feature at 4 to give the team a good blend and a extra spin option.

Also, Read: T20I Squad

Playing XI

Rohit, Shikhar, Virat(C), Raina, MS.Dhoni(Wk), Pandya, Axar Patel, B.Kumar, Bumrah, Unadkat, Chahal

South Africa-

The African side has rested some big names like Amla, Markarm, Tahir, Rabada and some are out due to injury. JP.Duminy will lead the side in place of injured Du Plessis and also AB De Villiers features in the squad. The South African Playing XI is a difficult one to predict due to big bunch of changes, but Duminy(C), De Villiers, Behardein, Miller, Morris, Klassen(Wk) are certain to play.

T-20 team: JP Duminy (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Junior Dala, AB de Villiers, Reeza Hendricks, Christiaan Jonker, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), David Miller, Chris Morris, Dane Paterson, Aaron Phangiso, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jon-Jon Smuts.

Upcoming Records

  • MS.Dhoni aka Thala needs 3 more catches to complete 50 catches in T20I.
  • Virat Kohli is 44 runs away from completing his 2000 T20I runs.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: