Skip to content

Australia’s tour of India 2017: Preview

As the Asian continent heads to Winter, the Australian’s are back again to complete their limited overs tour of India. They recently drew the Test series in Bangladesh by 1-1 on the back of a well deserved century by David Warner in the second Test. With a long season ahead both teams gear up for claiming the no. 1 rankings in ODI. This series will also mark Steve Smith’s first limited overs bilateral assignment in India, when the Asutralian’s last toured India for a limited overs series George Bailey was the Captain and Smith was not even in the starting XI. This will be the best opportunity for both Virat and Steve to show the world what they have got.

The series is due to start on 17th September with the ODI’s and will be followed by T-20’s. The first of the five match series ODI will be held in Cheenai than 2nd Kolkatta, 3rd Indore, 4th Bangalore, 5th Nagpur and the T-20’s will be played from 7th October, starting at Ranchi then Guwahati, finally Hyderabad. Also Guwahati Stadium will embark it’s first T-20 in this series. While talking about their last meeting in Australia , India lost that series 4-1 and when Aussies came to India last time in 2013, India won the series by 3-2 and also Rohit’s first Double Hundred came in the final ODI of that series. 

The Australian’s have already announced their team, with lot of players coming back and some big players missing out due to injury. The team look fairly good, with experience and youth. Faulknar and Coulter-Nile both are back in the side, the former is back because of experience in Sub-Continent and the later is in the squad because of good IPL performance. Another surprise selection in the T-20 side is Tim Paine and a well deserved cap for Behrendroff after a successful BBL last year.

Australian Team:


Steve Smith(C), David Warner, Ashton Agar, Hilton Cartwright, Coulter-Nile, Zampa, Stoinis, Wade, Faulknar, Finch, Travis Head, Cummins, Maxwell, Kane Richardson.


Steve Smith(C), David Warner, Maxwell, Jason Behrendroff, Christian, Coulter-Nile, Cummins, Finch, Head, Henriques, Zampa, Kane Richardson, Tim Paine.

Indian Team:

Coming back to Indian Team, the squad is yet to be announced but according to new rotation policy, no first choice spinners Jadeja and Ashwin will feature in the squad for sure and KL Rahul might get an axe from the team due to his string of low scores. With all the matches to be played at exotic venues and with different weather everywhere, it will be hard for the players to stay fit. With 5-0 win in the previous series in Srilanka for the Team, it gives India a slight edge over Australia. The main cause for Indian’s to worry is in-form Warner and Hardik Pandya’s injury, apart from this there are hardly any concerns for the team. 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: